Friday, October 2, 2009
It is always surprising when I find out that some of my favorite items are not vegan. Take wine for example. We all know that wine consists of grapes and maybe a little yeast. But the process by which wine is made is usually non-vegan. Most wines use the bones of animals, ground up small, to fashion a sieve. The liquid is forced through to extract grape debris. While no one wants chunks of grape skins in their vino, the idea of a powdered skeleton coming into contact with my drink is not too savory either.
Whats a vegan to do?
Luckily, there are many brands of wine that use alternative strainers. Yellow Tail is absolutely fantastic because the company offers many types of wine, for around $6 per bottle. And there are many vegan options!!
To make sure your wine is vegan, visit this site: http://www.barnivore.com/wine.
Now drink up!